Header Image

Fourteen Grade 7 Students Selected as Read-Imagine-Create Finalists

Annually, Mrs. Schramm’s Grade 7 literature students enter the Read-Imagine-Create (RIC) contest. Every year, a different author is chosen by San Diego’s Write Out Loud organization. This year’s author was Emily Dickinson and an impressive fourteen Rhoades students were selected as finalists this year.

The task was to read the given author’s work and to creatively re-imagine it. Students could choose any artistic format for those re-imaginings. This competition spanned grades 6 through 12, so our Rhoades students went head-to-head with high schoolers—and more than held their own.

The students plunged headlong into Dickinson’s poetry, which they not only “got” but truly appreciated. The Read-Imagine-Create competition allowed them to work on a project that would be viewed or heard by an authentic audience. In fact, it was professional writers, artists, and performers who judged their work.

The competition culminated in an evening that celebrated the arts. In the past, this event has traditionally been held live at the Old Town Theatre. All things being what they are, however, this year’s awards ceremony was held virtually. What has not changed, though, was the thrill of having one’s creative work recognized and honored. Even though all applause was virtual, the recognition of talent remained a true celebration.

Congratulations to all of our Rhoades students!

Special Recognition Awards

  • Luke Schneider, Literary Art, We Must Fail to Rise
  • Riley Blais, Media Art, I Hide Myself Within My Flower
  • Livia Hollingsworth-Spiehler, Visual Art, Branches of Emily Dickinson
  • Rohan Seth, Literary Art, She Wanders the Garden
  • Ian Crawford, Performance Art, That Girl Next door
  • Temour Samatov, Media Art, Finding Inspiration

Third Place Awards

  • 3rd Place Performance Art
    • Truman Carey for his recitation of three of Dickinson’s poems
  • 3rd Place Literary Art
    • Koa Barton for her short story I Am My Poems, My Poems Are Myself
  • 3rd Place Visual Art
    • Chloe Le for her piece The Dickinson Times

Second Place Award

  • 2nd Place Media Art
    • Nikhil Patel for his animation Bloom. Shine. Wilt.

First Place Awards

  • 1st Place Media Art
    • Oona Norvell and Ava Baker for their film Dickinson: A Never-Ending Show
  • 1st Place Literary Art
    • Oona Norvell for her literary compilation of prose Dearest Death: Our Final Tryst and poetry
  • 1st Place Performance Art
    • Sonali Sharma for her song Hope’s Always There for You

Artistic Director’s Choice Award

  • Celia Zdanowski for her sculpture in miniature, The Transitions of Life

To view all of the Grade 7 student work, please visit the links below:




This entry was posted in Rhoades and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.